The Post-A-Day & Trying to Avoid Mowing the Yard

Today’s Post-A-Day is this:

Off the Shelf

Take a look at your bookcase. If you had enough free time, which book would be the first one you’d like to reread? Why?

Being that I am sitting here eating my humble Greek yogurt for breakfast and procrastinating about actually going outside and mowing the yard, I am up for this challenge!

I would like to re-read any of the Kay Scarpetta series by Patricia Cornwall. I loved reading her stuff because here was a smart, tough chick who was also slightly human. When I was younger, she gave me something to aspire to, and I thought the science was fascinating.

I also enjoyed Conquistador by S. M. Stirling. He has a whole slew of books in that genre that I could dive into, the significant other has them all on a shelf, but I keep so busy I scarcely sit down and read, unless the doc tells me to stay in bed for some reason.

Off of my Kindle, I would re-read Swiss Family Robinson or 20.000 Leagues under The Sea, or Mysterious Island. In fact, I frequently do re-read those. 

There’s another series of books from the boyfriend I recently red the first two of, about several groups of people living in a post-apocalyptic world in the Pacific Northwest. It was a good read, because it wasn’t too science fiction-y to be believable, and it had good strong femme characters I could identify with. For the life of me, I can’t think of the name of the book right now, or find it on our shelves.

bookshelves

Now, I’ve dawdled enough, time to attack the yard, and hopefully not run over the baby watermelon with the lawn mower.

Leave a Reply

