Hallelujah! It Worked! Gluten-Free Bread Recipe Test, Take 2

Today’s recipe came courtesy of My Life of Spice (her blog is here: http://mylifeofspice.wordpress.com/), and can be found here:

Grain-free Sandwich Bread (Paleo and SCD)

At first, when I was gathering the ingredients for this, I was a little concerned. The recipe seemed to be a little light in the flour department. Even in other recipes I have tried, it called for up to 3 cups of flours or flour substitutes. This recipe only called for a 1/4 c of coconut flour. However, other ingredients seemed to be right on. There was a liquid fat (cashew butter), eggs as a binder, an acid and a base to cause a chemical reaction to cause the bread to rise, and a flavoring agent (honey). I decided to carry on, despite my initial concerns.Image

This cooks on a relatively low temperature, something I also questioned in the beginning. However, I was determined to follow the recipe to the letter, and set my gas oven for 300 degrees.

As you know from the previous post, my bread pans are with my son in Little Rock, so again, I am using the Bundt pan for this recipe. The recipe read to place parchment paper in the pan (a little hard to do with a Bundt pan) and grease it with coconut oil. If I haven’t said it before, I absolutely adore coconut oil. I have never used it in a food, that it did not improve the flavor of. I liberally greased the pan down with a large spoonful of coconut oil.

Image

The next step was to separate the yolks from the whites of the eggs, and mix the yolks, the cashew butter, the honey, the vinegar and the almond milk together.

Image

If I haven’t mentioned it, I love my stand mixer that I salvaged from the rental house. It is wonderful. 🙂

The egg whites were to be beaten to soft peaks in a separate bowl. I had to turn the mixer all the way up to get the peaks to form.

Image

 

Next, the dry ingredients had to be mixed separately.

Image

The recipe said to add the dry ingredients first, and then add the egg whites, making sure the oven was pre-heated. The chemical reaction between the eggs, baking soda, and vinegar would begin as soon as the egg whites entered the batter. The recipe said not to over-mix it, once the egg whites went in, so I switched to mixing it by hand, just until everything was blended.

Image

Into the greased pan it went.

Image

 

The lighting was wonky with this picture. I didn’t have the flash on, but it was wonky, anyway.

Then, it all went quickly (as the recipe said) into the oven.

Image

It took 50 minutes to cook. The recipe said to place a container of water on the bottom rack, but I only have one rack, so it’s in front. (I so need a tripod–pardon the blur.) It is strongly suggested, by the recipe, not to open the oven door for at least 40 minutes to check on it, so as not to dissipate the steam, which will interfere with how the bread rises.

Finally, once out of the oven, it is to sit for 15 minutes, to cool.

Image

You can see where I tested it at 40 minutes and it needed another 10 minutes of cooking. Once it is out of the pan, the recipe says to let it sit for an hour before serving.

Image

It popped right out of the pan, perfectly, unlike my 3 previous attempts at gluten-free bread. However, it looks more like a wheat bread than a white bread. I can live with that, if I can make a sandwich or toast out of it! Now, we wait, with anticipation, for an hour.

 

 

I couldn’t hold out for a whole hour. I cut into it after 45 minutes.
1st slive, 2
The crumb factor is far better. It is still a little crumbly, but you can actually slice it and put things on it. It is a very soft bread. The cashew butter imparts a very nutty flavor to it. Next time, I will scale back on the honey I use. This time I used the full 2 Tbsp. It tasted very sweet to me, especially when combined with the strawberry jam I canned the other day. (Which by the way, didn’t set properly. I apparently didn’t use enough pectin. Now I have a pectin-free recipe.)
with jam, 2
The final test of any bread recipe for me, is how well it holds up in a sandwich. I may have wonkered the test results by cooking it in a Bundt pan, but I still had some success with it. I made a summer-sausage, pepperjack cheese and garlic mustard sandwich with it. It crumbled a little, but held up way better than any previous recipe.
sandwich 2
As a final “yes” for this recipe, the significant other, who does not have a gluten problem, said it was yummy, both with jam and as a sandwich.
In closing, cooking this in the correct pan may greatly improve it’s “sandwich-ability”. Cutting the honey down (and perhaps adding garlic?) will improve the taste for me. I can’t wait to make it again!

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

