JAM!! OOEY, GOOEY STRAWBERRY JAM!!!!

For the recipe and a guide to how I made my jam, go to:

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/08/canning-101-and-strawberry-jam-part-1/ 

and 

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/08/strawberry-jam-part-ii/

I found a lot of strawberries at Sam’s Club for really cheap.  I also wanted to try my hand at canning again (it’s been 20 years since I have canned anything). Maybe I am just a little nervous about having a bountiful garden this summer, and not being able to use it to its best purpose. (I still can’t believe I planted 20 strawberry plants last night.) So, I decided strawberry jam was the trick of the day.

First, we gather all our tools:

Image

Turns out, I didn’t use the pressure cooker except to boil water. I did the two half-pint jars in it. I did realize I need to buy a larger pressure cooker before stuff starts coming out of the garden. It was a struggle for my pressure cooker to handle 2 half-pints. It’s great for roasts, but not so much for canning.

Next, I prepped 3 of the 4 pounds of strawberries I had gotten.

Image

This is how pitiful 3 lbs of strawberries looks, all cut up. However, it turned out to be 7 1/2 cups, which worked perfectly for my recipe.

Now, the filled jars are taking their hot water bath:

Image

I love my old gas stove for this!

And, finally, we have jam!

Image

And we’ve confirmed I can’t take a picture to save my life! I ended up with 5 pint jars and 2 1/2 pint jars. I am waiting to see if the seals took now. I can’t wait for jam! 

Leave a Reply

