Another Gluten-Free Recipe Bites the Dust (sort of)

My search for a gluten-free sandwich bread which rivals “good ole white bread” continues. This recipe wasn’t it. It was tasty, but it wouldn’t hold up in a sandwich. With a bowl of soup, or chili, it will be awesome, but sandwich bread, it ain’t.

I found it on Food.com at http://www.food.com/recipe/yeast-free-bread-67405.

I think I knew, going in, it wouldn’t make a good sandwich bread, because I changed it. (A LOT.) Here’s what I mixed up.

Instead of the 3 cups whole wheat flour, I substituted 1-1/2 c gluten-free bisquick, (I was hoping the xanthan gum in the bisquick would resolve the crumb issue.) and 1-1/2 c of my own GF flour substitute. (A mixture of fine milled brown rice flour, potato starch and tapioca flour.)

I did use 4 tsp of baking powder and 1 tsp of salt. I used 1-1/2 c water. The recipe also said you could use any type of juice such as apple, orange or tomato, or milk. Of course, each liquid will impart a different flavor.

I also used olive oil for the 1/4 c liquid fat the recipe calls for. From here on out, everything else, I added to the recipe.

I added 2 eggs that I beat to a froth to the recipe. My research said eggs were the glue that holds baked goods together. (Maybe I didn’t use enough glue?)

I added a Tbsp of apple cider vinegar. My research showed this would react with the baking powder and cause the bread to rise and be soft.

I added 3 Tbsp of flax seeds, because it’s a superfood, rich in Omega-3 oils, and I don’t eat near enough fish, because it’s so darned expensive.

The rest of what I added was merely for taste–I like things that taste good. I added 3 Tbsp minced garlic, 1 c cheddar cheese, and 6 crumbled slices of bacon. If I had had an onion, I would have added it, too. (and some olives…yum…)

Here’s the process:

Image

Mixing the dry ingredients. (I couldn’t totally crop my finger out of the picture. I sooooo need a tripod.)

Image

Mixing the wet ingredients seperately. Notice the eggs are frothy.

Image

Mix everything together. At this point, it looked (and sort of tasted) like mashed potatoes. The good kind. Like your Nana used to make. Out of real potatoes. Not a box. That usually came with a fried chicken leg and some over-peppered green beans on a Sunday afternoon. 🙂

Here it is in the oven:

Image

Yes, I realize that isn’t a bread pan. All my bread pans are still in Little Rock with my son, and I can’t get them until the 15th. I was hoping this would make a bread that could still be cut into small sandwich slices.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t meant to be. It was less crumbly than the bread I made 3 days ago, but it wouldn’t hold up to a sandwich. However, you didn’t need a spoon to eat it–you could hold a wedge of it, like a very moist piece of cake. That is progress.

So, does anyone have any ideas or better yet, recipes for a good gluten-free, soft sandwich bread?

I have a good commercial loaf, but while it is the most edible commercial variety I have found, it’s hard. Like a rock. Or my dog Uboo’s head, perhaps. (but not as cute.) I am really craving the soft fluffiness of “good ole white bread.” Somebody help a girl out!

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

