New Year’s Resolutions

Image

I am, by nature, a procrastinator. Evidence to the fact: I’m posting this on January 22, using a blog-post as a means to procrastinate about cleaning my sewing room. I’m not even going to make a resolution about that, because as I get older, under the name of “caution” or “maturity”, I find ways to procrastinate more. It can be done. That being said, here are my New Year’s Resolutions.

1. To make realistic New Years’ Resolutions.

2. To get and keep my sewing room organized, so I can efficiently run a small business out of it.

3, To not buy material more than three projects ahead of what I am currently on, and to shrink my “stash” of materials by 50%.

4. To eat 3 healthy foods a day, and purchase 3 new healthy foods every time I grocery shop.

5. To get back into exercising once I am done with this current round of antibiotics. SLOWLY. SO I DON’T KILL MYSELF. I tend to be “feast or famine” in this area, maybe because of my years as a Marine. What’s the saying, “Pain is just weakness leaving the body?” Until you tear a rotator cuff, or an achilles tendon, or break the bone that covers your knee. Then, pain is just pain…I haven’t been able to exercise since October, due to respiratory infections. I am sooooo out of shape. Perhaps I might add in here to drop and keep off 5-10 lbs this year. That seems reasonable.

6. To actually get my small business up on Etsy, with a “ready-to-sell” inventory. (This will be a challenge.)

7. To try harder not to interrupt people when they are speaking. This is a huge character flaw for me. I get impatient, and I assume I know what my loved ones are usually thinking, so I try to beat them to the chase. It’s rude of me.

8. To put in a successful garden and have a minimum of 25% of our year’s food come from this garden.

9. Learn something new every week, and teach something new to someone else at least once a month.

10. Blog at least once a week. (Another challenge.) 

11. To try to think more linearly. My thoughts seem to go in several directions at once, as you may have noticed by this list of resolutions. I would like to teach myself to concentrate on one area of “stuff” at a time.

So, what are some of your resolutions? How have they fared this far into the new year? Tell us all about it–We’d love to hear from you!

 

Leave a Reply

